By, Felicia.

My name is Felicia, and I want to personally say welcome to my blog! Well, you probably went through my portfolio, my resume, and my contact information [use wisely] to finally get to this point.

Honestly, I’m so happy to be writing for you guys. I think I’ve tried to start a blog a million times and I always stop myself because I never know what to talk about or what I could say that is any different from the other blog posts that you might see on a weekly [or daily] basis. How can I be any different? But then it hit me, I have so many interests that I figured I can be different by talking about different things. Why not conquer food, books, fashion and makeup, health, DIY arts and crafts, travel and whatever else interests me? The way I see it, all these things make up who I am and if I want you to really get to know me, I need to share all these sides with you. So, let’s get started:

Felicia, the food junkie. I love food and I love writing about food. I’ve recently started writing for ORANGE Magazine, an online publication with the University of Texas at Austin, with the food and drink department. I got involved with this section because let’s face it, I love food. But I’m not here to tell you how to eat healthy [because I am not a nutritionist or dietitian or health nut], I’m simply here to give you ideas on different places to explore and different foods to try. Why not allow yourself to try different things and explore all the possibilities there is with food and drink?

Felicia, the book nerd. I am an advocate for reading as many books, if not all books, to your heart’s content. I am sad to say I haven’t done any reading for pleasure because of being a college student and having a million other things to read. However, I think it’s time I make time doing what I love: curling up with a good book. I like to ask for books for Christmas [or my birthday] or even a Barnes & Nobles giftcard because I want to get my hands on an endless supply of books. I want to have a library in my house filled from top to bottom with books. So hopefully, with all the reading I plan to get done, I can share some of my favorite books with all of you.

Felicia, the fashion and makeup guru. Okay, I wish I was a guru or even certified to talk to you about fashion and makeup, but sadly, I’m not. However, that won’t stop me from trying to connect with all of you fashionistas because what better way to get advice on fashion and makeup than from a simple Southern Texas girl who wants to share her style with all of you? Especially when you know I’m not always shopping at the most high-end places so you know you can afford what I get [I would think this is a perk].

Felicia, the future mental health activist. I can’t even begin to explain what this topic means to me. I have had a dream for a long time to start a campaign and get people aware of mental health. I’m not a doctor nor do I have any medical knowledge, but I am a person who struggles with social anxiety. It’s not something I can “turn off,” or “get over,” which are two things I have been told before. This is something that I battle with every single day and I constantly try to make myself better despite having it. I am here to help give a voice to all the people who feel like they don’t have one because of their mental illness. You are not alone, and for the people that don’t understand what it means to have a mental health illness, please try to support those who do. Help us bring more awareness to the issue at hand because it really is an issue. We can’t just push it aside, because believe me, if we could, we would.

Felicia, the girl who basically lives at Hobby Lobby. I love DIY projects. They are so much fun and quite frankly, I love the chance to get crafty and feel like a kid again. And for all my other DIY lovers/ Pinterest addicts, what better way to bond and get ideas than by sharing our ideas with each other? I hope I can help you get ideas for your next party, or child craft time, or whatever it is you need help with. I’m here to help!

Felicia, the girl whose favorite word is “wanderlust.” I love to travel. Oh goodness, I can’t even begin to describe how much I love to travel. Maybe it’s because I started flying on an airplane when I was 1-year old and that travel bug got inside me. Maybe it’s because I’m fascinated by what else is out there in the world. Whatever it is, I want to travel as much as I can, for as long as I can, and I want to take you on the journey with me.

There’s so much more to who I am, this is only the beginning. I hope you all enjoy my blog, because believe me, I’ll have just as much enjoyment writing it all. I’ve owed this to myself for a long time.


Leave a comment